Business Card Standoffishness

“Do you have a business card?”

“Over there. Help yourself.”

I don’t get it. When I care enough to ask for a business card, I’m saying that I want the opportunity to stay in contact with that person. If they don’t care about their own business card, why should I feel differently?

Here’s an alternative from a smiling someone who hands me my request.

“Thanks for asking. Please, have an extra.¬† I’d be grateful if you share it with someone.”

I am that guy. I have passed out extra cards of businesses I believe in.

Why? Because, when you believe in the name on that card, it becomes a Willy Wonka-like Golden Ticket.

Leave a Reply

