FedEx Frustrations

What’s worse: bad communication, or the right words used for the wrong purpose?

This week, I called FedEx. Why did I get a package deposited in a mound of snow at my top step, when, just two feet away, awaited the handle of the front porch door (and a way to keep the package safe and dry)?

The call center agent insisted that there is no way to tell a delivery person where a resident would like packages left. Instead, I was told to hang a sign on the door with instructions.

Problem: if someone doesn’t care enough to look for a door latch, why would that person stop to study signage?

The next day, the phone rang. A FedEx area supervisor wanted to discuss my problem.

“I’m sorry,” he said. “We can do better.”

WOW! Really?

“I can communicate your preferences to the driver.”

Does “can communicate” mean the same as “WILL COMMUNICATE?” I think I may have been hearing another corporate wiggle-room escape clause (like “up to” and “results may vary.” The worst ever? “We’ll take that under advisement.”)

I remain unconvinced. Why? On Saturday, I received a second FedEx shipment, another absorbent padded envelope. (Thank heavens for the inner bubblewrap. Soggy books are a crime.)

My FedEx foe tried to find a remaining bit of snow outside the door, but could only manage to soak the shipment in a puddle.

Say what you mean, then do what you say.

Leave a Reply

