‘Do I Have To Go To College To Be An Author?’

A great Kindle e-book by one brave author!

A great Kindle e-book by one brave author!

It was one of the bravest acts I’ve ever seen.

It was some of the most shocking sounds I’ve ever heard.

All this happened years ago in an elementary school classroom.

My wife Diana Star Helmer and I visited students to talk about the books we’ve written.

Time came for student questions.

A somber little girl raised her hand.

“Do you have to go to college to become a writer?” she asked.

Without flinching, my wife replied: “No.”

The teacher (Mrs. Politically Correct) gagged. She groaned. The sound effects dazzled me. I’ve never seen or heard a bug-eyed adult choking on the truth before.

“No college degree is going to help if you don’t love to write,” she said. “Read. read. read! Write, write, write! That’s most important.”

I butted in. “You need to start now. Not when you’re an old college student.”

The teacher recovered. Although she looked ready to call 911 if we leveled with students on any other hard questions.

What are worthwhile traits for an author to develop?

Before your list is complete, don’t forget COURAGE. Say what needs to be said. Write what needs to be written. Maybe you’ll even make a teacher faint.

One thought on “‘Do I Have To Go To College To Be An Author?’

Leave a Reply

