The Magic of Johnny Rabbitt, KMOX St. Louis Storyteller

This man makes me HUNGRY! (Courtesy KMOX)

This man makes me HUNGRY!
(Courtesy KMOX)

Johnny Rabbitt (Ron Elz) astounds me every week.

I tune into 1120 AM Saturday nights to “Route 66,” craving great oldies rock music and more.

Part of the host’s old-school charm is his live commercials.

No jingles. No sound effects. It’s just one man telling a story. One show-stopping story. Relive the meal Rabbitt savored at The Piccadilly at Manhattan or Josephine’s in Godfrey. There’s no “trust me” attitude. You’ll hear about what makes his idea of good food good. He’s not just recounting facts. Rabbitt sounds like he’s sharing secrets.

I’d compare him to the rare waiter who responds to a “What’s good here?” with “What I like is…”

Save me from the zombie waitress who mutters “Our featured menu item is…uh, let me check.” Give me a WHY guy every time.

There’s details, inside information and great advice. You’ll feel like that amazed elderly diner in When Harry Met Sally, the one who thinks Sally’s food has some special powers.

“I’ll have what she’s having.”

No, I don’t know if Rabbitt himself is scripting his live commercials, or if someone has mind-melded with the master.

All I know is that I believe. Johnny Rabbitt knows our secret:

Words matter.

One thought on “The Magic of Johnny Rabbitt, KMOX St. Louis Storyteller

  1. Pingback: KMOX Legend Johnny Rabbitt Responds | Tom Owens, Writer

Leave a Reply

