Do Kindle Authors Hate REAL Books?

Is there a revolutionary lurking beneath that tree?

Is there a revolutionary lurking beneath that tree?

Sorry. I’d hope the world would never dare ask. How could that be true?

However, I’ve gotten that eerie reaction from some older readers. I tell them about my wife Diana Star Helmer’s book Elsie’s Afghan. I tell them about my works-in-progress, upcoming e-books.

Their reply is a variation sounding like this:

“I like the feel of real books.”

PLUS…

“I like going to a real bookstore.”

What’s the best reaction to such accusations of terrorism? After all, I think some older folk believe that anyone with a published e-book is plotting the overthrow of mainstream publishers and brick-and-mortar booksellers.

I try for a calm reply. Here’s my effort-in-progress to the doubters, I say:

“This isn’t an either/or situation. I will work with anyone who helps get my stories to the most readers possible. All I know is that mainstream publishing isn’t welcoming new ideas or new authors. These corporations are scared, closing their doors to unagented writers. They aren’t backing books they do publish. I don’t have the time to wait for publishing to revert to its glorious past. If I can have books in hardcover and paperback, too, great.  However, I can’t devote all my time and energy to that sole fleeting hope. I have too many stories to share now.”

Leave a Reply

