Michael Alvear’s ‘Make A Killing on Kindle’ Offers Updated Inspiration

AlvearKindleHere’s another reason I love Kindle:

It wasn’t that long ago that I stood in line at the college bookstore. I wanted to sell these textbooks back.

“We can’t buy those,” said the shaking, sighing head. “All those books will have new editions.”

I thought about the authors churning out yearly updates, making sure that someone was buying again and again.

Well, I cheered over the notice that Michael Alvear updated his Make A Killing On Kindle: The Guerilla Marketer’s Guide To Selling Your Books On Amazon.

When I purchase this, or any other Kindle book, I’m buying a relationship. No need to own various incarnations. When the author learns more, he shares. Meanwhile, I want to reward those names, shopping for their other titles (and knowing that they’ll keep me informed with more free updates).

As I near the publication of my first e-book, I’m devouring any information on the subject I can find. Michael Alvear’s title is tops on my list of secret weapons. I like his sense of humor and philosophy. He’s not a profit-profit-profit prophet, but someone adept at matchmaking. He’s showing how authors can reach more readers.

Hoping others will harvest his encouragement, I asked Michael for details. I’m grateful for his reply, including:

Q: What about the never-published-before-on-Kindle author? You seem to be the only person with the liberating advice of not spending several days a week on social media “platforms.” Are there any other frequent fears for newbies, and how do you extinguish the worry?
A: “Truly the biggest worry of all writers beginners or not is the fear that they will have spent six months writing a book that no one will read.  There is no way to extinguish that worry as it comes with the territory. The truth is that you can do everything right and still fall flat on your face. If you want a shining example of the unfairness of life you could not do worse than to look at book marketing. There are terrible books that do everything wrong and become best sellers and there are terrific books that do everything right and dwell in the cellar.  If you don’t accept that as a fact of the writer’s life you are doomed to a world of pain.”
Q: What about authors who “just tuned in” to your message? For instance, here’s my wife’s first Kindle e-book from 2012, entitled Elsie’s Afghan.
She’s been disappointed with sales, but hasn’t let that stop her from writing more. What help do your books provide for under-performing titles?
A: “People like your wife need to read books like mine and go over best practices for each of the nine decision points that consumers face. For example your wife used 2 sentences to describe her book and expects people to buy it. Only someone like Stephen King can sell a book with two lines of copy.
I can’t tell by looking at the cover of your wife’s book what the book is about and I certainly can’t tell what it’s about by reading those two sentences.  She has broken a cardinal rule of book selling. Namely, do not make consumers guess what the book is about because they will go onto the next one. In my book marketing consulting practice I help clients avoid these pitfalls.”
Q: Lastly, I wondered about your latter e-book title, How to Sell Fiction on Kindle. How is that title different than the above?
A: “The main point of difference is that it is literally a catalog of keyword phrases that fiction writers can use to market their books and have it show up in Amazon’s search engine results.”
Thanks again, Michael. See you on the best-seller list!
Leave a Reply

