My E-Book Apology Poem

PoetryBookCoverForget Twitter. Try writing a poem.

Not a scroll-filling, multi-page epic. Write something that could be recited without sucking every last breath out of you.

(And everyone knows that lots of hot air is vital to any poet…)

In my new collection 101 PO’ed Poems: Frustrations in Free Verse, I wanted to address the supposed shame of not having a traditional publisher. Here’s my take on e-bookery:

“WAH!” readers cry.

“I like REAL books.”

“I like the FEEL of real books.”

“I like going to bookstores.”

Me, too.

However…

I want this poem

to be published

before I die.

And…

I want you to read it

before you’re dead.

In the spirit of Black Friday, the whole collection is a door-busting 99 cents. That’s less than a penny a poem!

Who knows how many apologies you’ll find in one volume?

Leave a Reply

