Roller-coaster Your Writing

This was my last roller-coaster experience. Check out the newest Iowa thrills at www.adventurelandpark.com.

This was my last roller-coaster experience. Check out the newest Iowa thrills at http://www.adventurelandpark.com.

Breathe, people!

As a reader, I’m seeing too much writing with a barrage of loooooooooooooooooong sentences.

I know I’d never make it as an audiobook voice. (Pant. Pant.) Most of all, I have to backtrack to review the first 10 words of those paragraph-long ramblings.

No, don’t talk like Tarzan.

However, try imagining your sentence structure like a roller coaster. Big climbs. Twists and turns. Variety.

It’s not a beginning-to-end screamfeast on coasters, either. There’s anticipation. Climbing slowly. Higher. Higher.

Whee!

I’ve seen some writing of late with the sentence structure: long, longer, longest.

Break it up in there, please.

Leave a Reply

