If Tonto Was Your Editor

I found a great biography of Jay Silverheels, the man who portrayed Tonto, at www.findagrave.com.

I found a great biography of Jay Silverheels, the man who portrayed Tonto, at http://www.findagrave.com.

I watched The Lone Ranger regularly.

Tonto (played by Jay Silverheels) gets a bum rap today.

The Lone Ranger seemed like exposition man. A masked narrator. He was required to deliver a monologue containing most of a storyline.

Tonto, meanwhile, starred with his quick recap. What mattered most? He didn’t waste words.

While the Lone Ranger polishes his pistols, I think Tonto could clear up any manuscript problem. His advice?

1. Short sentences work.

2. Know your audience.

3. Be yourself.

Tonto made sense then, and now. I never got to thank him!

(P.S. – I tried my hand at Tonto-like blogging/editing in this prior blog post. Just four words!)

 

 

Leave a Reply

