Thanking Baseball Author Ray Robinson

This far-prettier specimen was priced above $25 on eBay. My copy, with numerous creases and other signs of love, is priceless.

This far-prettier specimen was priced above $25 on eBay. My copy, with numerous creases and other signs of love, is priceless.

I still have it.

I have the 60-cent paperback entitled Baseball Stars of 1971. I bought it from the Scholastic Book Club. I read the catalog everyone got at school. Then I counted out the nickels and dimes.

Years ago, I found Robinson’s address. I thanked him for making me want to read AND write. This book is the first complete book I remember reading again and again. (Yes, he wrote back.)

Words matter.

So do writers.

Who should you be thanking today?

 

Leave a Reply

