Onion satire skewers storytelling standards

This might make you cry. THE ONION will make you laugh. (Photo credit: Dirk Ingo, Wikimedia Commons)

This might make you cry. THE ONION will make you laugh. (Photo credit: Dirk Ingo Franke, Wikimedia Commons)

I love The Onion.

This showcase for sparkling satire and perfect parody is high-fiber fun. In other words, good for you and tasty! Best of all, these tales don’t give me bad breath.

This vignette was no different.

Why have I spent years avoiding writing workshops or college classes touted to make me a better author? I want to escape the cookie cutter of correctness. Must all stories be the same? This scenario isn’t as far-fetched as you might think.

I’d buy this mythical seven-year-old’s first book. Different is good.

Kudos to Dan Gutman for sharing this on Facebook. Dan is the funniest author I know in children’s lit today.

Leave a Reply

