Who writes those annoying pop-up box refusals? Ick!

Obviousman and cartoonist creator Wiley "Non Sequitur" Miller are two faves of mine. Look both up on gocomics.com.

Obviousman and cartoonist creator Wiley “Non Sequitur” Miller are two faves of mine. Look both up on gocomics.com.

Imagine “Insulting Your Reader 101,” a college course for all webmasters.

Am I supposed to laugh at the choices given on some pop-up ads? One website I respect has such a “Lady or the Tiger” choice. Just because I didn’t want their e-mail newsletter, I had to choose “No, thanks. I don’t like to save money.”

I’d rather see a juicier non-option. Something like “No, thanks. I like being ugly and stupid.”

I’d like to find each of these smarmy copywriters, summoning them with ringing doorbells and phone calls just when they’ve closed the bathroom door. Then, they’d have to choose “I’d rather sit on the toilet than accept your springboard to fame and fortune.”

For now, each case of online peer (sales) pressure I receive is greeted with a related FLUSH!

Leave a Reply

